My Quest for a Double Bridle – thank goodness for The Dressage Connection!

 

Carter Getting Ready
Carter Getting Ready

Recently, I went on a quest to look for a double bridle for me and my munchkin. Even though we’re schooling Second Level we’re using the double occasionally to familiarize ourselves with it and get ready for the big Third Level around the corner.

Let me tell you… shopping for a double bridle is tougher than it seems. There are so many options out there with differing quality of leather. I’m looking at this as a long term investment so I wanted to find something that was price-quality balanced. Before buying my own bridle, I was using my trainer’s Stuebben that was purchased a while back and is no longer available…which was a bummer since it is a great bridle. I searched at several tack shops, online, at fairs, etc and couldn’t find exactly what I wanted. Finally, I found two brands that I liked- Kieffer and Red Barn (KL). After an initial dismissal of Red Barn I found one with really high-quality leather that would be perfect. I also found a Kieffer that would be great, but I couldn’t find it in stores and I’m a touchy-feely person and wanted to be sure that it’s what I wanted (again, think investment minded me, here). I wasn’t up to purchasing it overseas because I was fearful of the return nightmares that might accompany that debacle so I decided on the Red Barn that was in a local tack shop. One piece of three…complete.

Now… on to bits. Again, since my guy is a TB he’s a little tougher to fit. Working with my trainer we decided on sizes and I was on my quest. Nothing was in stock in the local tack shops, so I turned to online.

The Bradoon wasn’t difficult to find… I searched for a 5” Herm Sprenger KK Ultrabit because that’s what I’m using as a snaffle now and Carter seems to go great in it. Order placed… and now I wait for shipping.

Neue Shule Thoroughbred WeymouthThe Curb/Weymouth seemed like it would be an easy task, also. Initially, measurements showed that I needed to find a 4.75” straight shank curb. That, turned out to be more difficult than anticipated. There are only two manufacturers that I could find (since I couldn’t find size/type that I wanted in a tack store). I decided to go with a Neue Shule because of endorsements by JJ Tate and recommendations from one of her Wellington students, and my trainer. We opted for the Thoroughbred Weymouth…well, for obvious reasons. Finding an online store in the US proved difficult until I remembered that I’d seen some at The Dressage Connection while I was visiting Wellington this past winter. Ta da! Online at www.thedressageconnection.com I found my bit, in the size I needed and, it was discounted! When does that happen? I placed the order and immediately received an order confirmation. Now…the shipping wait.

My Bright and Shiny Double Bridle
My Bright and Shiny Double Bridle

Not to bore you with the details  (I’m leaving a lot out) both bits arrived seamlessly, but to my dismay they were too small! YIKES…was I glad that I hadn’t opted for the European online stores. While I’m sure the return process would have been smooth… I’m glad I didn’t need to test the waters! Both online stores were great through the return process and I’m now the proud owner of a double bridle with a full bit (5.25″ for both bits) configuration.

Our first ride was great. Once, I got over the “I’m using a new bridle with new reins and I feel like an alien” internal struggle I realized that Carter settled into the whole thing beautifully. He relaxed. He was on the bit. He was chewing and frothing nicely. We were in great harmony.

I look forward to many more rides in the double bridle. I’m thrilled to be one of the first in my barn to be using a Neue Shule bit and can’t say enough about the customer service I received from The Dressage Connection. They were helpful, fast to respond, personable and made the experience tremendous! I’m looking forward to my next online, and real life, visit to the store!

 

Leave a comment